The Journey to a Better Me

Today, I said to myself “Sharon, even if your post is just 50 words long, you need to break this dry spell.” So, here I am. I’m glad I listened to myself! It’s so important to ‘Just Do It’ as Nike would say. Dear readers, forgive me for this long absence!

Image

Now, this year has been the best year of my life in so many dimensions. No, I didn’t hit a 250 million naira jackpot (not yet anyway!) and I didn’t travel to 50 countries of the world this year. But so many little things happened to create a mosaic of beauty in my life. One of the ‘little things’ was joining Toastmasters this year. While growing up, I remember always being in awe when people could stand in front of an audience and rouse them into action. As a matter of fact, one of my many career choices was to study Law, a choice I made after I attended a Career Seminar in secondary school. The female lawyer who spoke stood out for me because of the way she spoke, not to mention the fact that she looked very elegant!

Image

I was quite shy while growing up so there was a disconnect between the picture of the public speaker in my head and the actual reality of shaking knees I faced whenever I had to stand to do something in public. As I grew older, I got better but I knew I could keep improving. A lecturer friend of mine told me about Toastmasters sometime in 2009 but I didn’t get round to joining till this year. I’m so glad I did! I’ve always believed that the power to become a better version of you is in your hands. For those of you that aren’t familiar with Toastmasters, it’s a public speaking and leadership skills organisation.  I love the fact that my Toastmasters club gives me the opportunity to continually improve on my skills. 

In addition to Toastmasters, my job at The Elocution, Etiquette and Ethics Academy has me speaking in front of people all the time. So, I’ve found that speaking has become something I love to do and I just want to keep getting better and better at it. The best part is that I can actually look back at the speaker I was at the beginning of the year and say for sure that I’ve gotten better.

What I’ve seen is that if you consciously devote yourself to something, you can become better. But you need to take that first step. Buy a book, hire a coach or consultant, listen to a podcast; just take a step towards that seemingly impossible goal. Then another. And another. One day, you’ll look up and discover that you’re at your goal post. It’ll be done and dusted. You’ll have made it!

Take one step this week towards that goal, people. Most importantly, stick to it!

 

To your dreams,

Sharon-Ann

The Etiquette Coach™

 

P.S. Are you working on any goals now? Have you applied the ‘One Step’ principle to anything and succeeded? I’d like to hear about it! Please leave a comment 🙂

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. chichi
    Oct 28, 2013 @ 09:08:18

    Keep it up & I’m inspired to join toastmasters as well

    Reply

    • diaryofaseeker
      Oct 28, 2013 @ 12:39:01

      Thank you for reading Chichi! You can call Patrick on 08034417112 for more information about Toastmasters. The next meeting will be held on the 2nd of November, that’s this Saturday. I’ll be glad to meet you!

      Reply

  2. Daring D
    Oct 28, 2013 @ 10:30:57

    Nice take home statements: Just do it and the one step principle

    Reply

  3. TOPEjay
    Oct 28, 2013 @ 23:19:19

    Well said Sharon! I’ve just been bitten here by the bug of taking action in the direction of my dreams. Your words are a doubled edged dagger of incision and precision.

    The greatest fear of man is public speaking. Surprisingly, it is greater than the fear of death! You’ve given me yet another weapon in addition to those I have in my arsenal for consistent winning!

    I love the ‘One step’ principle and I’m well on my way to applying it.

    Thanks Coach Sharon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

